Ike Dollar (1971-1974, 1976-1978)

The Eisenhower Dollar is a $1 coin issued by the United States government from 1971–1978. The Eisenhower Dollar followed the Peace Dollar and is named for General of the Army and President Dwight David Eisenhower, who appears on the obverse. Both the obverse and the reverse of the coin were designed by Frank Gasparro. The Eisenhower dollar was the last dollar coin to contain a proportional amount of base metal to lower denominations; it has the same amount of copper-nickel as two Kennedy half dollars, four Washington Quarters, or ten Roosevelt dimes. Because of this, it, like its predecessors, had a cumbersome and excessively large size, leading to their short time in circulation and replacement by the smaller, Susan B. Anthony dollar in 1979.